Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
9

Caution: Rigorous Daddy Braggin' Ahead

Brewster High School Sports Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony 2023
9

I just finished watching my son Kevin get inducted into the Brewster High School Sports Hall of Fame, and my soul is full. ☺️

Kevin's not much involved with PCS Nation as he's living his own life, about 8 hours away, where I don't get to see him anywhere near as much as I'd like to.
I've talked about this before but if you didn't know, Kevin was a "rock star" distance runner in high school. He was consistently ranked in the top 1% of the top 1% of high school distance runners in the U.S. by grade level and “all around” from 2012-2016, at which time he chose to accept an athletic scholarship to the University at Buffalo to continue his education and running career out of the over 200 colleges & universities that recruited him.

I could easily write another 10,000 words about the dozens & dozens of times this kid had me screaming in the stands at a race, or just loving watching him and his friends be kids at meets. But in lieu of that lengthy and probably quickly boring saga, I'll just lay out his pedigree...

(High school distance runners typically compete over three separate seasons; Cross Country, Indoor Track and Outdoor Track. This encompasses all three seasons for all four years.)

1x Rookie of the Year - Cross Country, 9th grade
11x Team MVP - All Seasons, 9th-12th grade
9x All Northern Counties Team - All Seasons, 10th-12th grade
6x State Championship Qualifier
State Championship Runner-Up at 1600m, 2016
4x National Championship Qualifier
2x Journal News Athlete of the Year, Track & Cross Country

I can't begin to describe how proud I am of this young man and his accomplishments, both on and off the track...and I salute him tonight as he is recognized by his teachers, coaches, teammates and community, and placed on the wall at the Brewster High School gymnasium among those who left their mark before him.

Congratulations to you, Mr. Kevin Hazelwood, and thank you Brewster NY.

Leave a comment

Share PCS Nation

9 Comments
PCS Nation
PCS Nation
Authors
PCS Nation