11 Comments
author

True AF Story!

The Snot Rockets were only ever me and a couple of my friends messing around with some songs I wrote for a punk children's album called "27 Short Punk Songs For Rotten Kids"

Sample lyric...

"Go on and play with matches, you probly won't get burned...

If you're really careful, no need to be concerned...

Go on and play with matches, strike 'em one-by-one...

See the fire dancin', finger-burnin' fun!"

Shit like that.

Only I only wrote like 9 songs and we got bored. šŸ˜†

However...the NAME 'The Snot Rockets' was originally birthed in 1971 when I was in 2nd grade.

The school nurse, Mrs. Gershowitz, was in the classroom giving a talk about something and spontaneously blasted off a head-rocking sneeze...and like half a second later you could hear an audible "fwap" when her giant boogie landed on the kid behind me's desk. Must've missed blasting me right in the face by mere inches. Kids were screaming and running away and everything. šŸ˜†

Obviously 7-year-old me did not associate this incident with being a potential name for a punk band, but later in life I recalled it at just the right moment in time, and there ya go. šŸ˜‰

Expand full comment

Wow! What a traumatic experience for a 7 year old!

Expand full comment
author

A degree or two different trajectory and the course of my mental future could've been altered forever. šŸ˜

Expand full comment

šŸ¤£šŸ¤£šŸ¤£

Expand full comment
Aug 20, 2023Liked by PCS Nation

That song, Last Night, is the most overplayed song since My Sharona. šŸ˜‘

Expand full comment
Aug 20, 2023Liked by PCS Nation

Hmmm...no John Rich??

Expand full comment
Aug 20, 2023Liked by PCS Nation

John Rich and Dan Bongino did a 90 minute live stream last night on Rumble. It was at John Rich's bar Redneck Rivera in Nashville. He has a new album out and did the acoustic version of all the songs. I thot they were all good. The main song "Offended" is good. It's not an angry song but it's a poke in the eye to woke people. It's on YouTube. During the show it went up to #1 on iTunes and the album was up there too. There was close to 40K live viewers.

Expand full comment

ā€˜Snot Rocketsā€™ šŸ˜‚šŸ˜‚šŸ˜‚

Expand full comment

Damn! Nothing subtle about that title!!

And I love the name of your band!!

ā™„ļøšŸ‡ŗšŸ‡øā™„ļøšŸ‡ŗšŸ‡ø

Expand full comment

I'm curious how that would sound if you added a pedal steel player

Expand full comment

Get out the spandex and have a 'deja vu' moment or 2. šŸ˜‰

Expand full comment