18 Comments

True story

Expand full comment

I saw an article this morning where new voter cards were sent to people in Nassau County and, due to "printer error" they were all printed as registered Democrats. Was it an oops or intentional??

Expand full comment

๐Ÿ˜ฎ Iโ€™d like to know too.

Expand full comment

๐Ÿคจ

Expand full comment

Has anyone ever seen anything like this happen the other way around where this kind of โ€œmistakeโ€ would benefit the opposing party?...... I think not.

Expand full comment

Nope. Always in favor of the Dems

Expand full comment

Definitely intentional.

Expand full comment

What we NEED is: 1 federal government issued VOTER ID card. You show this bad boy ONE time and you get a ballot.... In person, mail-in, early.... I do not care..... 1 time. Now you can't vote in any other election until the next cycle. I don't care how many homes you own or how many places you pay taxes. I am sick and tired of "snowbirds" comparing how much easier it was to vote "at home" before coming to Florida to winter. One REGISTERED voter, ONE vote! It aughta be a law!

Expand full comment

I'd be fine if the made election day a federal holiday, and everyone had to vote on that one day, with voter ID. None of this mail-in ballot shenanigans.

Expand full comment

Sign me up.... Even though the number of people I have ever met who have a job and because of it can not find time to vote is exactly equal to the number of people who cannot vote because they are not able to obtain a valid ID card... 0

Expand full comment

Hey Lee, if you can get to the chat feature on Substack we're talking the pros and cons of this.

Expand full comment

This was part of the Help America Vote Act of 2002. I was assigned to the implementation team here. Your driver license was SUPPOSED to be the voter ID document. (We got into major discussions about people who don't drive/can we force them to purchase non-driver ID/etc. Those of us saying people need identification for lots of reasons were ignored.) There was supposed to be a national voter database connected to all states' driver license records. When I left that job in 2006 HAVA still had not been fully implemented, probably never will be.

Expand full comment

I heard some leftist on the news yesterday say - "only people who cheat on their taxes are opposed to hiring 87000 new IRS agents". Not true by the way.... but made me think - "only people who want to cheat to win an election are opposed to voter ID" - much higher chance of being TRUE. 21 years and still not implemented???? There are more people want to cheat an election than we think

Expand full comment

Yeah, 21 years is plenty of time to put a database together. But when 50 different entities have to coordinate . . . And that's just the main players. Here in NY we had at least 4 agencies involved, and each one thought their concerns were most important. So glad to be retired!

Expand full comment

Thank you for your service....

Expand full comment

I appreciate that so much! Public sector employees rarely receive gratitude. Abuse and scorn but not much else. I also did hard time in the Tax Dept. I remember one caller telling me that I didn't know what it was like to have to pay taxes since I worked for the dept. Uh, no. There was no employee discount; we were held to a higher standard. Joe Taxpayer could make a math error $5 to his benefit and it would be overlooked. Tax staff had to be accurate to the penny or the error would be made right by payroll deduction.

Expand full comment

I'm sure it was an intentional oops. When I lived in Ohio we had to declare a party to vote in the primary. Almost 100% of the time I was given a democrat ballot and had to ask for the correct one.

Expand full comment